Junior cricket begins in Parkes this Saturday

Keegan Tucker Encouragement Award for Girls: Abigail Simpson (left) and Maddy Spence at the PDJCA presentation. Photo: Supplied.

Keegan Tucker Encouragement Award for Girls: Abigail Simpson (left) and Maddy Spence at the PDJCA presentation. Photo: Supplied.

The Parkes District Junior Cricket Association (PDJCA) conducted presentation ceremonies (multiple ceremonies had to be conducted due to COVID-19 restrictions) last Saturday to celebrate the 2019/20 cricket season.

These ceremonies were scheduled to be staged in March 2020, however due to the COVID-19 pandemic they had to be called off. Congratulations to all award winners.

2019/20 award winners

Under 17's

Most improved: Zac Larkins (Colts); Ryan McKenzie (Cats).

Most runs: Zane Eshman (Colts) - 164 runs; Harry Bayliss (Cats) - 222 runs.

Most wickets: Joseph Tanswell (Colts) - 9 wickets; Cooper Towns (Cats) - 9 wickets.

Best and Fairest: Geordie Duncan - 10, Liam Moody and Zayne Eshman - 9 points (all Colts).

Premiership Awards: To the 15 person squad of Parkes Cats under 17 players that took out the PDJCA five team under 17's competition in 2019/20.

Gift cards for graduation players from PDJCA: Zane Eshman, Ben Cooper, Ryan Mackenzie, Harrison McGregor.

Under 14's

Most Improved: Jake Dunn (Colts); Oliver Westcott (Cats).

Most runs: Jack Milne - 168 runs (Colts); Harry Jones - 185 runs (Cats).

Most wickets: Jack Milne (Colts), Harrison Kennedy (Cats) and Oliver Westcott (Cats) - 8 wickets.

Best and Fairest: Jack Milne (Colts); Harry Jones (Cats) - 22 points.

Under 12's

Most Improved: Memphis Ross (Colts); Bill Mahon (Cats).

Most runs: Harry Yelland (Colts) - 363 runs; Matty Price (Cats) - 79 runs.

Most wickets: Harry Yelland (Colts) - 12 wickets; Thomas Bell (Cats) - 11 wickets.

Best and Fairest: Harry Yelland (Colts) - 25 points; Thomas Bell (Cats) - 18 points.

Major Awards (representative cricket)

Under 17's Kevin Klein Award for Sportsmanship & Achievement: Harry Bayliss.

Keegan Tucker Encouragement Award for Girls: Maddy Spence and Abigail Simpson.

Under 14's Peter Chambers Memorial Award for Sportsmanship and Achievement: Ryan Dunford

Under 12's Joy Skinner Memorial Award for Sportsmanship and Achievement: Ewan Moody.

Under 12's Nic Fisher Memorial Award for Enthusiasm and Improvement: Aiden Rayner

Hat trick Awards: Cooper Towns (Under 17's Cats); Harry Yelland (Colts Under 12's).

5 wickets in an innings: Maddy Spence 5/11; Zac Larkins 5/19 (Under 14's).

Under 17's Kevin Klein Award for Sportsmanship & Achievement: Harry Bayliss with his awards. Photo: Supplied.

Under 17's Kevin Klein Award for Sportsmanship & Achievement: Harry Bayliss with his awards. Photo: Supplied.

Life Membership award

The highlight of the combined under 17 and 14 presentation ceremony was the awarding of Life Membership to Kerry Spence.

At the meeting of the PDJCA on March 9 earlier this year, Mrs Kerry Spence was awarded Life Membership of the PDJCA in recognition of her tireless and efficient contributions as the IT Operator, registrar, publicity officer, records officer and scorer.

Kerry Spence became the 13th Life Member of PDJCA and is the first female to be given this honour.

The timing also coincided with the Australian Women's 20/20 World Cup victory at the MCG in front of 86,000 spectators and with the very welcome news that Maddy Spence (Kerry's daughter) had been named in the NSW CHS second XI for 2020 to play at the All Schools High School Championships in Maitland.

Unfortunately COVID-19 led to the championship being cancelled but it was still a huge honour for Maddy to be named at such a young age.


2020/21 PDJCA teams

Under 17's

B. Clarke, G. Duncan, R. Dunford, J. Tanswell, L. Moody, H. Bayliss, T. Yeo, H. Hawke, C. Towns, M. Spence, C. Kirk, L. Ticehurst, D. Dawson.

Coach: C. Hawkes, managers: K. Duncan, G. Bayliss.

Under 14 Raptors

J. Milne, A. Rayner, S. Rayner, T. Ball, J. Ball, C. Newman, K. Ticehurst, T. Simpson, B. Price, T. Ross.

Coach: S. Milne, manager: M. Ball, scorer: S. Rayner.

Under 14 Crushers

J. Dunn, E. Moody, L. Freeman, H. Kennedy, Z. Cheema, O. Westcott, H. Rice, C. Rowbotham, B. Mahon, M. Mahon.

Coaches: P. Moody, G. Dunn, managers: W. Freeman, C. Rowbotham, scorer: L. Kennedy.

Under 12 Colts

B. Hutchings, H. Yelland, A. Ball, M. Ross, W. Watson, M. Hornery, N. Richardson-Bartley, T. Butt, L. Ticehurst.

Coach: P. Yelland, manager: G. Hutchings.

Under 12 Crushers

J. Clarke, S. Morgan, T. Chapman, H. Kross, J. Kuun, P. McPherson, A. O'Keefe, E. Moody, P. Skinner

Coach: D. Morgan, manager: G. Morrissey.

Under 10 Cats

J. Kaden, H. Heraghty, C. Cunningham, D. Rice, M. Dwyer-Mulligan, L. Hunter, A. Albert, A. Rosser, A. Higgins.

Coach: C. Rosser.

Under 10 Colts

L. Charlton, L. Orr, G. Hendry, O. Hendry, H. O'Keefe, J. Dunford, N. Hansen, R. Fisher, D. Frogley, E. Hando.

Coach: P. Dunford.

Under 10 Crushers

P. Westcott, T. Ross, N. Johnston, B. Symington, E. Symington, C. McColl, B. Westcott, S. Westcott, E. Luke.

Coach: G. Westcott.

Under 10 Raptors

T. Longhurst, K. Kinsella, R. Hutchins, K. Ward, X. Ward, J. Lee, S. Yelland, L. Jennings, J. Clarke.

Coach: L. Clarke.

This weekend's games

Under 17's

Friday October 23, 6pm: Parkes vs Forbes Livestock at Woodward Oval, Parkes.

Forbes Engineering vs Forbes KMWL at South Circle, Forbes.

BYE: Condobolin.

Under 14's

Parkes Crushers vs Parkes Raptors at Spicer Oval, Parkes.

Forbes Ag 'n' Vet vs Forbes Machinery at Grinstead Oval, Forbes.

Under 12's

Parkes Colts vs Parkes Crushers at Harrison Park, Parkes.

Forbes Hazel and Field vs Forbes Sportspower at Botantical Gardens 1, Forbes.

Forbes Nutrient Ag vs Forbes Hutcheon and Pearce at Botantical Gardens 2, Forbes.

Under 10's

Parkes Crushers vs Parkes Raptors at Keast 1, Parkes.

Parkes Colts vs Parkes Cats at Keast 2, Parkes.

*All games begin at 8.30am on Saturday morning unless otherwise specified.

All Parkes team managers should report to Woodward Oval on Saturday morning between 8-8.10am to collect team equipment, cricket balls and score books.

Managers need to complete results sheets, including best and fairest votes (3, 2, 1) and then hand in both results and the score book to the cricket box at Cunningham's IGA.

In case of inclement weather (rain is expected this weekend), please check the PDJCA facebook page or tune into 2PK between 7-8am on Saturday.

Lachlan trials

Congratulations to the following players who will be taking part in Sunday's trials for the Lachlan Cricket Council's junior pathway.

Under 13's: Tristan Ross, Eamon Moody

Under 14's: Jack Milne, Ewan Moody, Aiden Rayner, Samuel Rayner, Liam Freeman, Harrison Kennedy, Jake Dunn

Under 15's: Ryan Dunford