Sports awards nominees announced ahead of Australia Day awards

LOCAL SUPERSTARS: All six nominees for the Parkes Shire Sportsperson of the Year.

LOCAL SUPERSTARS: All six nominees for the Parkes Shire Sportsperson of the Year.

The Parkes Shire Council recently announced the nominees for the 2021 Parkes Shire Australia Day Sport Awards, ahead of Australia Day on Tuesday 26 January 2021.

Parkes Shire Mayor, Cr Ken Keith OAM was full of praise for all the nominees in what has been a difficult year.

"This year it is particularly important to recognise the outstanding people and groups in our community who have positively contributed to the local culture, community and environment during the current pandemic," said Cr Keith.

"These awards give us the opportunity to publicly acknowledge and reward the marvellous contributions these citizens and groups make at a local level and encourage others to follow their lead.

"Congratulations to all the nominees - information regarding the annual celebrations will be available in the coming weeks, as the Parkes Shire Australia Day committee review the NSW Health COVID-19 event restrictions," Cr Keith added.

The Sportsperson of the Year is set to be a tough one to pick once again, with two Australian hockey representatives, two NRL players, a New Holland Cup star and a local golfing stalwart.

Junior Sportsperson of the Year will be an even tighter race, highlighting Parkes' proud history of producing talented athletes across a range of sports.

Cricket, hockey and rugby league feature heavily across the nominations; a testament to the wonderful work of coaches, officials, volunteers and players to create elite environments in a country town.

Full list of nominations:

Sportsperson of the Year: Luke Bevan (Rugby Union), Mariah Williams (Hockey), Kurt Lovett (Hockey), John Green (Golf), Billy Burns (Rugby League), Darby Medlyn (Rugby League)

Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Jack Milne (All Sports), Harry Yelland (Cricket), Maddie Spence (Cricket), Matty Price (Swimming), Abigail Simpson (Hockey, Cricket), Jorja Simpson (Rugby League, League Tag), Bayden Moran (Rugby League), Lockie Miller (Squash), Henry Kross (Squash), Koby Johnstone (Hockey)

Team of the Year: Parkes Boars First Grade Rugby Union, Parkes First XI Cricket, Parkes High School Girls Tennis, Parkes High School Girls Cricket, Parkes Panthers AFL

Senior Sportsperson or Team: Nil

Referee, Umpire or Official of the Year: Jay Kross (Squash), Glenn Pepper (Cricket)

Coach, Trainer or Manager of the Year: Jodie Turner (Swimming), Josh Miles (Rugby Union), Meghan Kempson (Soccer)

Administrator of the Year: Jay Kross (Squash), David Cooper (Touch), Andrew Thomas (Junior Rugby League), Denise Gersbach (Senior Hockey), Dan Wilson (Hockey), Wayne Osbourne (Soccer), Adam Parker (Soccer)

Long Service and Dedication: Alan Ryan (Rugby), Graeme Hando (Harness Racing)

Good luck to all involved!