Parkes Shire Council announces its 2021 Australia Day Awards nominees

TOP GONG: The Parkes nominees for the 2021 Citizen of the Year Award are (top, from left) Ana Mill and Barry James Garment; (above) Michael Lynch and Hedley Nicholson.

TOP GONG: The Parkes nominees for the 2021 Citizen of the Year Award are (top, from left) Ana Mill and Barry James Garment; (above) Michael Lynch and Hedley Nicholson.

Parkes Shire Council is pleased to announce the nominees for the 2021 Parkes Shire Australia Day Awards, ahead of the national day on January 26.

The awards celebrate and acknowledge community, sporting, environmental and cultural contributions at a local level.

"This year it is particularly important to recognise the outstanding people and groups in our community who have positively contributed to the local culture, community and environment during the current pandemic," Parkes Shire Mayor Ken Keith OAM said.

"These awards give us the opportunity to publicly acknowledge and reward the marvellous contributions these citizens and groups make at a local level and encourage others to follow their lead.

"Congratulations to all the nominees."

The awards are administered through a nomination program, with local selection committees determining the winning recipient of each category.

Each nominee will be presented a certificate at their community celebrations.

Cr Keith said information regarding the annual celebrations will be available in coming weeks as the Parkes Shire Australia Day committee review the NSW Health COVID-19 event restrictions.

The nominees for the Parkes Shire are:


Citizen of the Year

Ana Mill, Barry James Garment, Hedley Nicholson and Michael Lynch.

Young Citizen of the Year

Sophie Field, Nicayden Greenwood and Marnie Noakes.

Community Event of the Year

Art of Resilience Event - Sean Cassidy, Harry and Doreen Westcott and Parkes Garden Club.

Environment Award

Michael Chambers and the Lachlan Valley Branch of National Parks Association.

Marie Bashir Academic Award

Channel Jones.

Performance Award

Duncan Clement and Parkes Boppers Dance Troupe.

Literacy Award

Maggi Barnard, Margaret Irwin and Sarah Sal MacKean.

Visual Arts Award

Margaret Lewis and Paint Parkes REaD - Shonel Redfern.

Cultural Lifetime Achievement Award

Carolyn Butler, Cathy Acret, Douglas Richards, Jo Laurie, Margaret Tanner, Robyn Morrisey, Sue Smeaton and Warwick Tom.


Nominees for the Peak Hill Australia Day Awards are:

Robert Osborne and James Robinson.

Additional certificates will be awarded to community groups, organisations and individuals who have shown outstanding persistence and support within the Peak Hill community during what was a difficult year.


Nominees for the Trundle Australia Day Awards are:

Colin Wheeler, Trundle Progress Association and Pink Night Fundraising Committee.


Four certificates of appreciation will be presented to services that continued to offer excellence throughout 2020 to ensure the health and safety of the community.


The 2021 Bogan Gate official welcomer: Cooper Bond.

The 2021 Bogan Gate flag raiser: Amber Roach.

For the nominees of the Parkes Shire Sport Awards, which are also presented on Australia Day, click here.