Hey, Guise retain title

Robert Hey and Lynne Guise retained their crown as the Parkes Golf Club’s Mixed Foursomes champions with a narrow one shot victory over Ian Phipps and Kaye Jones on Sunday.

Hey and Guise started solidly in the 27-hole event when they opened with a solid 85 for the first 18 holes to lead Phil Barnard and Glynis Conroy by a shot, with Phipps and Jones a further shot away.

A major change was to come over the event during the final nine holes as Barnard and Conroy commenced with pars on the first two holes while Hey and Guise dropped a shot on the 1st hole and then a further two shots on the Par 5, 2nd hole to trail by two shots.

Phipps and Jones recorded bogies at the opening three holes while both the leading pairs had bogeyed the Par 4, 3rd hole as well.

A double bogey 5 on the Par 3, 4th Hole saw Barnard and Conroy lead by just one shot after Hey and Guise had a bogey and Phipps and Jones a solid par.

Pars on the next three holes by Hey and Guise saw them regain the lead as Barnard and Conroy recorded bogies to fall back to third place after Phipps and Jones recorded two pars and a bogey.

With two holes remaining the championship was still in the balance but disaster was to strike on the Par 4, 8th Hole as Barnard overshot the green with his team’s second shot, leaving his partner with a virtually unplayable ball and the end to their chances as they recorded a triple bogey 7.

The other two contenders shot bogey 5’s and on the final hole both the leading pairings recorded bogey 5’s to hand victory to Hey and Guise.

In the consolation division, junior lady golfer Kasey Fay-Rice made it back to back titles when she teamed with Peter Bristol to take the title on 146, nine shots clear of Vince Kelly and Sue Holman.

The Liz Matthews-sponsored handicap sections of the championships saw Phipps and Jones finish on 109.25, 2.75 shots clear of the runner ups Steve Simpson and Cathy Kelly.

In the consolation section, Tim Burke and Margaret Stone spreadeagled the field after returning a great 104.50 nett,10 shots clear of the eventual runner-up’s Vince Kelly and Sue Holman.

Ball winners on the day went to 112 Steve Simpson and Cathy Kelly, 113.25 Phil Barnard and Glynis Conroy, 113.50 Robert Hey and Lynne Guise, 114.50 Vince Kelly and Sue Holman and on 116 were Peter Bristol and Kasey Fay-Rice.


A great +8 by Bill Warren and Tom Delmenico saw them take out Saturday’s Anita Medcalf and Travel Managers-sponsored 18 hole 4Ball v’s Par competition in the men’s section while Colleen Flynn and Leone Stevenson were equally impressive in the ladies section.

In the men’s ball competition Peter Dixon and Chris Luke finished on +7, on +6 were Sam Turner and Brien McPhee and Peter Picker and Ian Phipps, +5 saw Michael and Ross Smith and Rod Kiley and Victor Gaidzionis and surviving the countback on +4 were Michael Kable and Anthony Riach and Peter Boschman and Dave Whitfield.

In other major events contested on the day, Robert Hey won the Frank Donnelly Perpetual Shield after his three rounds saw him finish on +1, while Saturday’s individual winner saw Bill Warren add his name to the long list of achievers on the Qantas Cup.

Saturday’s nearest the pin awards for the men saw Robert Hey dominate when he was the recipient of four awards including victories at Griffins Leading Edge 4th Hole at 317mm, the Dirt Doctor Landscaping 6th Hole at 2500mm, the difficult Westlime-sponsored 15th Hole at 2040mm and capping off the big day also saw Hey successful on the money hole.

Other nearest the pin winners went to Phil Bishop at 2140mm on the Idle Rite Tyrepower 1st Hole after a great 5 iron and Victor Gaidzionis blasted a brilliant 4 iron to 4330mm of the pin on the toughest Par 3 the Westlime-sponsored 15th Hole.

Saturday’s final two awards, the nearest the pins on the Parkes Ready Mixed Concrete 9th Hole and the PJL Group Pty Ltd 18th Hole in two shots, saw victory to Michael Kable at 140mm on the 18th Hole while no-one managed to hit the 9th Hole.

All ball winners are advised that their prizes are available from the Pro Shop.


With Saturdays major event already mentioned above the ball winners from the day went to Liz Matthews and Anne Berkeley on +5 and Kaye Jones and Cathy Kelly on +4.

The nearest the pin competition saw Colleen Flynn victorious on the Lyn Rogan 1st Hole, Leone Stevenson on the Parkes Pharmacy 4th Hole, Anita Medcalf at the Telescope Tyres 6th Hole, Sue Holman for the third week running maintained her mortgage on the Parkes Services Club sponsored 11th Hole and Margaret Hogan on the tough Railway Hotel sponsored 15th Hole.

Meanwhile last Wednesday a great field of 19 ladies contest the Griffins Leading Edge-sponsored 18 Hole Stableford that saw Jenny Hoy victorious with 40 points.

Ball winners went to 37 Leonie Thompson, Liz Matthews and Colleen Flynn, 35 Margaret Hogan, 34 Cathy Kelly and surviving the count-back on 33 was Kaye Jones.

Nearest the pin awards saw Cathy Kelly take out the Lyn Rogan-sponsored 1st Hole, Frankie Cock the 4th Hole, the 6th Hole went to Colleen Flynn, while Dawn Wakefield was successful on the 11th Hole and on the final Par 3 the 15th saw Frankie Cock make it a double.


Players or teams who remain in contention for both the Jack Burch 4Ball Handicap Matchplay and the Club Matchplay Championships are reminded that this weekend that these round matches must be played and completed.

Players are also reminded that no extensions will be granted and the match committee has deemed that the player or team who is supposed to organise the match will be declared to have forfeited the match if the match is not contested by the due date.

These conditions apply to all matchplay events contested at the club.


Men and lady members get another chance to join in the battle to see who will contest this years Handiskins final that will be played on Sunday 20th August as the four leading players battle in the Ultimate game of Skins golf which has $1200.00 of club or Pro Shop vouchers to be won.

To qualify for the final players must finish in positions 1 to 4 with these players having the highest accumulative three rounds from the six rounds contested.

All players who contest the Handiskins receive a complimentary gift pack.

This Saturday sees the third qualifying round being contested with the remaining rounds to be contested on 8th, 15th & 22nd of July.


The clubs Annual General Meeting will take place this Saturday commencing at 10am at the clubhouse.

Members get their chance to voice their suggestions to the incoming Board of Directors which will see the club receive a new Club Captain as well as a Vice President, Secretary and Board Member to join Club President Bernie McCabe, Treasurer Peter Boschman and Board Members Brian L. Hogan, Matthew Swetland and Dave Stevenson as Directors.


On Wednesday the ladies will contest the Lyn Davison-sponsored 18-hole Stroke with the ladies reminded that hit off for the afternoon players will be at 12pm, then on Saturday it’s the Judy McCabe sponsored 18-Hole Stableford  with the WDLGA Spoon event for Division 1,2 and 3 players played in conjunction.

On Saturday the men will for the Michael Richardson Memorial Trophy with Richardson Dental supplying the trophy. The event takes on added significance as it’s also the third qualifying round of the Pybar Handicap Challenge and for both the men and the ladies it’s the third qualifying round of the Handiskins.

Members are also reminded that they can contest Saturday’s competitions on Friday but they can only hand in one card for the competition.